Andrew Neeme Takes Two at American Poker Awards

Written By Katie Callahan on February 26, 2018

Andrew Neeme posted two wins at the 4th Annual American Poker Awards Feb. 23: Video Blogger of the Year and the People’s Choice Award.

The Las Vegas grinder received over 10,000 votes to snag the win, the most of any award. He watched the award show from South Africa and had this to say following the festivities:

According to the GPI Network, the event brought celebs, including Randall Emmett, Tom Sandoval, Ariana Madix, Amber Nichole Miller, and Tito Ortiz.

While GPI was trending, at the awards, Jacob Zalewski and the One Step Closer Foundation brought tears to the eyes of the attendees. The foundation received the Charity Initiative of the Year award. Zalewski lives with cerebral palsy; he was given a 3 percent chance to live. He not only beat the odds, but generated over $1 million for his foundation.

No one could forget when Ema Zajmovic became the first female player to win an open event on the World Poker Tour. Thus, she took the Moment of the Year.

This year, the partypoker MILLIONS North America Event from Playground Poker Club Montreal picked up Event of the Year. The Mid-Major Circuit award went to WPTDeepStacks (WPTDS).

[show-table name=cta-pokerstars]

American Poker Award roundup

Here are the awards of the night:

  • Industry Person of the Year – Matt Savage
  • Tournament Performance of the Year – Scott Blumstein (WSOP Main Event)
  • Lifetime Achievement in Poker – Lon McEachern and Norman Chad
  • Breakout Player – Artur Papazyan
  • Journalist of the Year – Lance Bradley
  • Broadcaster of the Year – Nick Schulman
  • Poker Streamer – Jaime Staples
  • PocketFives Legacy Award – Ari Engel
  • Jury Prize – Eric Danis
  • Poker’s Biggest Influencer – Cary Katz
  • 2017 GPI American Player of the Year – Bryn Kenney
  • 2017 GPI Female Player of the Year – Kristen Bicknell

Tracing back 2017 for the winners

Matt Savage received his second Industry Person of the Year award in his third straight year of collecting trophies from the American Poker Awards.

Scott Blumstein, early in 2017, was posited as a great ambassador for poker. This proved true in his WSOP Main Event win, taking down the third-largest WSOP Main Event ever for over $8.1 million.

His smile and personality at the table weren’t all that got him noticed. The New Jersey poster boy signals success for online poker. The Garden State brought online poker in, and since then, it’s been difficult to keep New Jersey players out of the Main Event final table.

Comparatively, Lon McEachern, the play-by-play analyst, and Norman Chad, the color commentator, returned to the WSOP Main Event on ESPN. These familiar faces, veterans in the poker world, did as they have for the past decade and a half. McEachern was caught off guard by his award.

Taking the Media Content award was “Dead Money: A Super High Roller Bowl Story,” a PokerCentral documentary on Matt Berkey’s run in the 2016 Super High Roller Bowl.

PokerCentral also scooped the Podcast category with the PokerCentral Podcast, featuring Brent Hanks, Will O’Connor, and Remko Rinkema.

Nick Schulman, Broadcaster of the Year, hosted the live stream of the ESPN Main Event on PokerGO with Ali Nejad. The poker community praises the pair, known for their chemistry, knowledge, and ability to fill dead air when the action slows down. They also provided commentary on the Poker After Dark relaunch.

Photo by revolutionpix for GPI (Global Poker Index)

Katie Callahan Avatar
Written by
Katie Callahan

Katie Callahan is a freelance journalist, blogger and copywriter who covers everything from poker, business, education and politics to construction, startups and cybersecurity.

View all posts by Katie Callahan
Privacy Policy